Making my learning visible…

Posted: January 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

Just finished watching the Orientation and Welcome recorded session on Blackboard Collaborate.  I’ve always felt like a person that has been on top of the technology movement in education, but now I feel a bit behind!  I know that compared to many of my colleagues at school that I am on top, but there is so much to learn out there!

Seeing the co-created whiteboards in the session with the participants adding to the slide was as awesome as seeing students co-creating a Google Doc together, and the enthusiasm when they saw each other adding to the document.  It gives me chills just thinking about it.

I saw somewhere that it is common to feel overwhelmed with MOOCs.  They aren’t kidding!  I have a diigo account, but I so very rarely use it, that I almost forgot it was there!  With the ability to link my bookmarks to any Google Chrome browser, the need for an online bookmarking tool fell away, but now I realize how important it is for sharing… and sharing is truly what is all about, isn’t it?

Time to go familiarize myself with Diigo again, and get that IFTT working for me!

Comments
  1. Well, you are way ahead of me. I’ve not yet used Google Docs, nor do I have a Diigo account! One step at time is what I keep telling myself. Just figured out Twitter a month ago!

    • Jess Henze says:

      Lorraine-

      You have the perfect mind-set! If you let too many things take hold at once, it will be far too much to function at a “just right for learning” level! I love Twitter for PD. There is nothing like it. 🙂

  2. Trish McCluskey says:

    Hi Jess – really like your blog background! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and learnings. The learning nuggett I take from your blog is Consumer, Curater, Creater, Collaborator – I have written it on our office whiteboard to share with others. Cheers

    • Jess Henze says:

      Hi Trish! – The blog background stuck out to me. It reminds me that I’m being somewhat industrious since I’ve pushed myself into the creator/curator! Your summary is spot on. I guess I didn’t intend my ramblings to fall into any particular order. It must have been a happy accident!

  3. […] Jan: ‘Making my learning visible’ by Jess Henze Just finished watching the Orientation and Welcome recorded session on Blackboard […]

Leave a Reply

